DIY and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang kinda Sunday

So today I decided to tackle one of my drawers which was on the verge of falling apart. Considering I only bought this drawer about seven to eight months ago, I’m not at all impressed that it’s already caving in :'(. Frankly speaking, DIY is the last thing I want to be doing right now given that I’ve had my share fill of it earlier this year! I never thought I’d ever learn to paint a ceiling let alone skirting boards, who even knew what that was?! And yet I’ve found myself doing all of those things and much more! I even now own an electric screwdriver for pete’s sake! 😮 I’ve certainly come a long way in the DIY department. I just about need a man’s tool box to complete my foray into the building/handyman industry.

So like a dutiful handyman, I proceeded to bring out my tools to begin the task of rebuilding this drawer which by the way took 3 sets of feminine hands to assemble over about 6 hours over Chinese takeaway, no kidding! To make my job less painful, I decided to watch some tv while doing this and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang seemed a good distraction! For those who don’t know what I’m talking about, think 1968 classic movie :).
As I began assembling, it got me thinking about the limitations that we usually place on ourselves or society has placed on us because certain tasks are reserved for certain gender etc. Now before you think this is a lecture on feminism and “what a man can do, a woman can do” essay, it couldn’t be further from what’s on my mind. To be honest and blunt, I’d rather a guy build the drawer, period. DIY is fun but honestly it doesn’t interest me as much as going to the spa for example would ;)! Not the best of comparisons but hopefully you get my point. However what I will say is that the process of learning to do things outside of my comfort zone has thought me a lot about determination, resilience, hard work, creativity and self discovery. Here are some of the things I’ve learned in the process:

  • I’ve learned that in picking up a paint brush, I can do anything I set my mind to with the right tools and having a teacher or more experienced person nearby
  • I’ve learned that most things don’t come easy but the reward of going through the process and the end result far outweighs the temporary suffering encountered
  • I’ve learned that I had set limitations on myself which can only be overcome by taking the bull by the horn literally, even if doing it afraid!
  • I’ve learned that as humans, we can do far more than we’ve ever been told and there is limitless creativity within  everyone waiting to be unleashed
  • I’ve learned that procrastination will leave a nagging thought in your mind until it’s done
  • I’ve learned that time spent thinking about unfinished work can be better spent creating or doing new things
  • I’ve learned that to accomplish great things, you’ve got to start with that one small step
  • I’ve learned that preparation time is even more important than accomplishing the task ahead. How well you prepare will determine how well you’ll finish
  • Lastly I’ve learned that it takes time to build anything lasting and only those prepared to stick with the process will make it to the end.

So here’s to DIY and self discovery, a necessary inconvenience that has taught me far more than I could ever have imagined and has opened up my eyes to endless possibilities!

To finish off, here’s a feel good song from this timeless classic!

Leave a Reply

