Curveballs

Have you ever been at a place in your life where you’re just tired? And I don’t mean physically tired from work, play, running after toddlers or working out? I mean tired of everything and dare I say it…even life? Yes it’s scary and morbid perhaps. It seems to be a topic that we are afraid to make mention of, as if by mere mention of it life will be ebbed out of us.

The sad passing away of Robin Williams on 11 August (which happens to be my birthday) 😦 got me thinking about what could cause one to get so desperate to the point of taking one’s own life. It’s easy to hear such a story and immediately think of how selfish it is for someone to take their own life and leave behind grieving loved ones. God knows I’ve been guilty of thinking the same myself. But what happens when there’s nothing left on the inside of you and all you feel is a deep, black, empty hollowness that grows deeper and deeper by day? On the outside, you’re the picture of success! Record deals, blockbuster movies, awards, accolades, fame and money oozing from every fiber of you, you don’t even know what to do with it. Who knows what drove Robin to such heights of desperation that he felt the only way out was death…

Maybe he just got tired of life. I know I do sometimes and before you think I’m depressed, let me make it clear that I’m not. I happen to love life and believe in living life to the fullest but sometimes we go through seasons that literally knock the wind out of us and it’s at those times that it’s hard to see the wood for the trees. I’ve had a few of those recently and it has been painful. I call it my season of growing pains! 🙂

So my question to you is this, what do you do when life throws you a curve ball or two or many?

curveballs

Do you pounce on it like Federer or do you cower in fear,ducking to avoid the painful blows which you know are inevitable when it hits you?

Would love to hear your thoughts…

11 thoughts on “Curveballs

  1. I pause, take a step back, and search deep in my self on how my God wants me to handle that situation. I must say that only and only the HOLY SPIRIT can deliver out of darkness.
    Its such a sad thing when i hear of suicide. But may thy soul Rest in Peace. Amen

    p.s. Rock on Mimi!! love your new baby aka blog!!!..

    Like

      1. I also want to add, from a Healthcare point of view. Depression is an illness just like hypertension or Diabetes. Most times it could be easy to blame victims for rash decisions and behaviors but then again, when there are chemical imbalances so much can bee seen and so much are done by these patients. Mental illness is on the rise, and its sad to say that many people don’t believe in God and rather soley rely on science(such as medications, which is also knowledge from God). I pray these patients are given more help and attention to prevent these behaviors..

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Scripture says the devil moves around like a roaring lion looking to kill, steal or destroy!! In dark moments you have to remember what God’s word says and use that as a weapon to fight darkness in life.

    I leave you with “resist the devil and he will flee”.

    Like

  3. When life throws me a curveball, I swing my bat at it like I would at any other ball thrown at me. That’s the whole point of life, you keep swinging your bat till you are counted out. If the ball hits you smack in the face, you take a timeout to regain your senses and then keep swinging.

    If you keep swinging, one day you’ll hit a home run. Hope is key, when you lose hope, there’s no point to life.

    Like

  4. Robin Williams! I’ve wondered, “could it be he was murdered?” “Perhaps he wasn’t as depressed as we think.” “Or it could be that someone threatened his life so bad he thought the only way out would be to end his life.”
    Things happen in life and some times so fast we don’t even have time to think. But my prayer is that no matter the situations we are faced with, we can find someone willing to listen to our ‘ramblings’, and we can also hear the STILL SMALL VOICE within saying “This is the way; walk in it.” Life can be reeaaalllyyy tough.

    Like

    1. Who knows really? Suicide is sad on all levels. Funny how we can have people all around us, see them everyday and not have a clue the inner “demons” they grapple with until it’s too late. It’s a lesson for us all to take the time to get to know people and care about them on a personal level and not just virtually. Technology and social media is playing a huge role in the desensitisation of physical human interaction, but that’s a post for another day.

      Like

  5. When life throws me a curve ball I usually evaluate the situation and I always end up with the conclusion that I am in a way better position than I was years ago or even compared to many people. It’s important to remember that so we don’t take anything for granted.

    Like

  6. When life throws me a curve ball, I find my quiet place and talk to my God sometimes in tears God asking Him ” Lord what do I do now “- I always get an answer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment